Paul Cresti

Growing up, Paul Cresti was always involved in sports. He played both soccer and basketball as an early youth into high school. He continued to play soccer in college for NJIT. Today, he plays pick-up games here and there while coaching both his son and youngest daughter.

While in college, he got hit by the skiing bug and before long made the ski team and competed in both slalom and giant slalom. During the off season, many of the guys took to cycling to maintain fitness, thus Paul’s intro into the world of cycling! He bought an old Shogun from his fraternity brother and never looked back (still uses that bike for warm-up at races!). He continued to cycle on his own long after college. It was not until the “incident on the railroad tracks” that he purchased a new bike, a Cannondale Caad 5. He placed many miles on that bike.

At the young age of 40 (after he convinced his wife he needed a new bike for his birthday), he started to consider the racing arena. By age 41, TT’s piqued his interest, primarily for the idea of “going all out” and the notion of pure speed. In came a new bike and the rest is history.

Paul Cresti has been a member of Team Somerset and now races for Knapps Cyclery.

Height: 5’9”

December Weight: 178-175 lbs.

Race Weight: 165 – 160 lbs.

Birthdate: July 28, 1970

Childhood Heroes: “Pele, Lynn Swann, Terry Bradshaw.”

Hobbies and Interests: “Cycling, soccer, woodworking, and my family.”

Favorite Movies: “Love science fiction and action movies… Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, and anything with Adam Sandler.”

Musical Tastes: “Lots… Classical, Frank and Dean, rock, pop… Really depends on my mood.”

Favorite TV Shows:Ghost Hunters, watching football or soccer, and Wipeout.”

Favorite Meal: “Anything my wife, mother, or mother-in-law cooks… We are 100% an Italian family, the food is always good and plentiful!”

Favorite Breakfast Cereal: “Cheerios, Shredded Wheat.”

Favorite Pre-Race Meal: “Cereal.”

Favorite Ice Cream Flavor: “Anything with chocolate, especially Chocolate Peanut Butter.”

Childhood Dream: “To be a chemist like my Dad… Should have listened to that, I am an architect now.”

First Car: “1969 Oldsmobile Cutlass 350. Rocket with powerglide transmission and posi rear! Got eight miles to the gallon and I cannot tell you how many power brakes I did.”

First Job: “I worked at my uncle’s bar and liquor store and did carpentry with my uncle.”

Favorite Vacation Spot: “As a kid we went to Disney World and camped a lot… Now with my family, we like the beach. LBI is a favorite.”

Pre-Race Feeling: “Nervous, hungry, sick to my stomach, and have to pee like a racehorse!”

Most Painful Moment In Life: “My youngest being sick after being born. Losing my uncle.”

Worst Injury from Racing: “Happened during training, but crashed going downhill doing 50 mph [road was closed going around the corner]. Still have no feeling in half of my hand.”

Closest Racing Friends: “My Knapps Cyclery Team, Ken Lundgren.”

Toughest Competitors: “Myself… I am never good enough. All the 35+ guys.”

Qualities You Most Admire in People: “Honesty and hard work.”

What You Love Most About Riding Your Bicycle: “The freedom, being outside, and that special moment when all you hear is your cranks spinning and your wheels turning…”